Canada Day Celebration – July 1st

canadadayCome join us in celebrating Cricket in Canada on Canada Day, July 1st, 2016 at Assiniboine Park, South Ground with a 40-over game and Potluck lunch.

10 Facts About the History of Cricket In Canada

1759 – First recorded cricket match in Canada
1844 – First international sporting fixture in the world (all sports) – Canada vs USA
1859 – First cricket tour in history – England tour of Canada
1864 – The North West Cricket Club was formed in Winnipeg
1867 – Cricket declared national sport of Canada by Sir John A MacDonald
1872 – W. G. Grace toured Canada, third English tour
1878 – First Austrailian team to tour Canada
1880 – First Team to leave Canada to tour England
1892 – Canadian Cricket Association (Now Cricket Canada) was formed
1895 – Manitoba Cricket Association was formed

Another Fact – 1978 – Cosmos Cricket Club was formed


Sir John A MacDonald XI (Canada’s First Prime Minister)

Justin Trudeau XI (Canada’s Current Prime Minister)

Sir John A MacDonald XI
Sri Vijayan – Captain
Shalin – Vice Captain
Ricky Persaud
Gurwinder Sidhu
Vaibhav Patel
Kevin Patel
Anang Jani
Shlok Patel
Nick Jones
Ravinder Khakh
Navjot Sidhu

Justin Trudeau XI

Vasu Shah – Captain
Vandit Shah – Vice Captain
Maryo John
Waleed Ahmed
Rigin Zacharias
Ramya Patel
Nimesh Gunasekera
Siddh Sheth
Jaskarn Chhina
Alpesh Senghani